Silent sentry

What a morning (good weather, I mean)! I know I should have stayed in front of my pooter and made some progress with the jobs which are patiently waiting for attention, but the nice weather acted as an irresistible magnet and forced me to leave duty behind and get out and about. I half thought that I might fit in another last-minute Bliptogether offering (something a bit brighter and jollier than yesterday, hopefully), but I left it too late to set out and quickly abandoned that idea. Where to go? What to do? I decided to brave the traffic horrors of the Malahide Road and point myself towards Malahide.

I've blipped this church (well, part of it) before, but it still holds a strong fascination. It's St Doulagh's Anglican church in Balgriffin, which I suspect has a bit of a history. Once again, despite the 'visitors welcome' notice, all gates were closed and padlocked. I decided not to clamber over gates and walls for the sake of an up-close blip, so settled for this instead. The stone cross by the roadside (in the foreground here) looks really, really old, and struck me because of its shorter-than-usual arms, which look more like shoulders (to my eye, at least). (The 'bit of history' I mentioned is borne out by this Wikipedia article. Maybe some time I'll get to see the church up closer.)

I went on to Malahide itself after this stop-off, parked the car, and devoted today's daily walk to a saunter around the grounds of Malahide Castle and all around the village, down to the Marina and along the seafront. A very pleasant interlude.

After a bit of an afternoon nap I re-surfaced, downloaded the Bliptogether app and spent a good hour and a half watching it do its wonderful thing. Well done twigs for coming up with the idea, and thanks to everyone at Blipcentral for coordinating things so well. What a great community we have here !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.