LightWave

By LightWave

American Goldfinch

I had to get at least one shot of a male goldfinch in his breeding plumage this summer. They usually prefer the tube feeder that hangs outside our kitchen window where they are constantly twittering and squabbling. I've learned to recognize their call, which is rather a plaintive squeak with a rising intonation that makes them sound as if they are asking a question. ("Why me? Why me?")

My husband grew up calling these wild canaries, and you can see why. I think it's interesting that we get far more entertainment from these flocks of visiting wild birds than we ever could from a captive bird in a cage. Come fall, the goldfinch will lose his luminous canary colour and become a dull greenish yellow like the female. The goldfinches will stick around over the winter though (or most of it) so we will still have the pleasure of their regular company, even if our eyes are not dazzled over breakfast every day by their brilliance.

Polk County, Wisconsin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.