Nothing is worth more

By libbys

Yes I have no bananas

Going into town this afternoon to sing with my singing group and hopefully raise a wee bit of money for the Haiti appeal. The British rescue teams are coming home today...I cant imagine how anyone makes that kind of decision, that there is nothing more that can be done and rescue teams must withdraw....

Just thinking about all of that and looking out onto a grey,wet, dreich Edinburgh day, I wanted to pick something cheerful and colourful and sunny to blip...my dad gave my mum this fruit bowl many, many years ago when I was a small child and after he had been away on a work trip. I remember how delighted she was with it and how proud of it...it was Italian (and square not round) and sat in pride of place on top of the family piano in the sitting room we hardly ever sat in...I don't ever remember it having fruit in it though, I dont think we could afford fruit much then..but I do remember how delighted she was with the gift...and now that mum and dad are both gone, it's lovely for me to have it in my own home...and because I can, I keep it full of fruit and colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.