Where Next?

By HK

Machir Bay, Islay

(backblip)

We woke up bleary eyed and caught the early ferry from Kennacraig to Port Askaig. It was a gloriously sunny day and the sea was calm as anything.

Andy went for his site visit and meeting, I had the day to myself. I drove to Bruichladdich and sat out in the sunshine with a hot chocolate from the village shop. Then I look myself off to Machir Bay on the western side of the island, where I spread out our picnic blanket and attempted to read my book without falling asleep. It was wonderful!

Later I collected Andy and went to Laphroaig to buy a bottle for Mum, and then back past Bruichladdich to get a bottle for my brother! We checked into the Port Charlotte youth hostel and went for a bracing but refreshing swim in the sea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.