Loch Freuchie

This one is for you Freuchie!!

With the weather for this afternoon set fair and the forecast for tomorrow looking very poor, it seemed the ideal opportunity to go for one of our mystery drives - with me at the wheel!

I took the high road to Dunkeld, past the various lochs sparkling in the sunshine and then turned right on to the A9, with no clear idea of where I was heading. However, the heavy traffic made the decision for me and I turned off at Dalguise and took the back road to Aberfeldy, where I was able to treat my husband to one of his favourite gigantic meringues at the Garden Café.

A gentle stroll down to the river to admire the memorial to the Black Watch and the elegant Wade Bridge and then it was back in the car towards Amulree. Sadly, the tearoom there is still closed, with no sign of it opening again any time soon - a real loss to the area.

The clouds were just beginning to gather as I drove up the single track road towards Loch Freuchie and I was disappointed not to get a better shot of it with the sun shining on the water, as it is such a pretty loch.

I headed for home again, managing to cross the A9 with no traffic coming either way - a first!! Then it was the low road from Dunkeld to home, which is not such a scenic route but far easier to drive! Totally shattered now and will sleep well tonight, but another really enjoyable day:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.