Erinn Letts Photos

By ErinnL

Copper Falls' Damterfly

Today we took a road trip with Cindy & Brian to Copper Falls. Copper Falls is where my parents went for their honeymoon - 40 years ago! The trip took a little over an hour. To pass the time, I read "Eldest" by: Christopher Paolin to the boys in the way back of my mom's SUV.

Once there we hiked the Doughboys' Trail around the falls where the Bad and Tyler Rivers converge. The kids really wanted to climb rocks, but the trail is fenced off to prevent erosion and accidents. There were a couple of places, however, where you could walk down to the water. At one such place, Mia worked diligently to make Cookie Dough out of sand. While I waited for the dough to be finished I watched this little insect light onto some driftwood. It rested with it's wings closed but was the size and color of a damselfly. I could not decide if it was a damselfly, a dragonfly or a butterfly. So, I took it's picture and named it a damterfly.

After we made it back to the picnic area, we found a tiny gift shop with delicious ice cream cones. We savored the cones under an old log pavilion, played a bit at the park and then headed back to Manitowish Waters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.