Mariasme

By Mariasme

Australia Square

Went on a Sydney City Walk today with my old mate, Marie. Trains weren't running between my station and the city due to trackwork. (Note to self: get into habit of checking out Tripview before attempting to take a train; don't assume that the trains will be running.)

So, although I left myself an hour to get into Circular Quay--a half hour train ride at most--I found myself running right up against the deadline for meeting our tour group & leader for the walk. Frantic texts to Marie while the bus trundled up to Central station, and while I sat in a stationary train on the station 3 minutes after it was due to leave--at 10 a.m., when the tour was slated to start.

Marie texted me saying that we were the only people on this walking tour and our guide, Vincent, was happy to wait for me to arrive. Finally saw Marie & Vincent outside Customs house at about 10 past 10, and off we went.

Australia Square is one of Harry Seidler's works, and Max Dupain, apparently, has an image very like this one, though in black and white of course (and very much better, of course.) Must look for it on the net.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.