Photo a day for 2010

By kusasi

Wedgnock Winter Mud & Mayhem

This was the start of my 10K cross country event today, in the countryside between Moreton-in-Marsh and Stratford. You can see the sheer drop that is just identifiable beyond this. The good news is, I didn't have to hurl myself down it. The bad news is, I did have to climb up it one mile into the race.

They say nice guys finish last. Well, that made me just about the nicest guy there out of several hundred runners. I was also almost certainly the heaviest. This was a day for the hard core. The name of the race ("Mud and mayhem") should have been a clue to what lay ahead. But I finished it, slipped, stumbled and fell a few times, and survived to tell the tale, a non-serious running type who usually sticks to the roads, wearing completely the wrong shoes for a mudbath. Good experience for Edinburgh I'm sure. Or so I will tell myself ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.