thistle

Last day of the holidays today: off to London by train (travelling first class as there was only £15 in it which gives me unlimited wifi and coffee... hello from the train!) but not before going to see the estate agents (useless, much complaining) and then down to Edinburgh.

The real reason for the trip to Edinburgh was to drop me at the station thereby avoiding an extra 2.5h on the train (Perth > Stirling (change), Stirling > Edinburgh (change), Edinburgh > Kings Cross) but we went for a wander up the Royal Mile, called into St. Giles and then had lunch at Viva Mexico on Cockburn Street.

The children all agreed that Mexican food is excellent and even took a wander onto the slightly spicy side by eating their jalapeños! Lovely place, food good as always and cheap! I've not been there since before we had children and still lived in Edinburgh... a long time.

For some reason, despite having lived in Edinburgh for many years I'd never been inside St. Giles. £2 for a photography permit? Seems a bit odd but fair enough; I guess it's a good way to get people to donate. Off to the side is the Thistle Chapel which is well worth a visit.

A very hurried photo (there was a spare 5s before +3/3 jumped on me...) with the Samyang attached to the EOS-M and obviously I'd left the aperture too wide. I don't think anything is in focus... but if you really want to: emblurinate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.