Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Rear End Drift

Carriage driving at Catton Hall near Burton upon Trent. I try to go every year but realise that I haven't as yet blipped anything from this event.

This was the very last image I took while there. The horse recovered without falling and the driver seems oblivious to the drama in front of him. This is a great event; the camaraderie of those that compete and the family atmosphere pervades the whole area. I chatted to a number of people, including a photographer from an equestrian image company who just happened to be an ex-competitor. I learnt a lot about the event that would pass the occasional spectator by. She even regaled me with stories of HRH Duke of Edinburgh. He was there, judging and time-keeping at one of the obstacles.

I've put a few more images on Flickr, as well as an early morning panoramic of a fan shaped cloud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.