The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

Iftar time

Mrs McG and The Wee Man headed back to Blighty this morning. It was sad to see them go but I'll see them in a few weeks when I head back for my summer cool-down.

So after my 300km round trip, I headed into work for a LOOOONG day. ADNEC (the company I work for) were hosting their annual corporate Iftar.

Ramadan in the UAE is a big deal - a really big deal. Most restaurants are closed and those which remain open can only serve non-muslims behind screens. In a moment of madness solidarity with my Muslim co-workers, I decided to give the fasting a go. 16 hours of fasting - no food or drink - not even water - every day for a month. We'll see how long I last!

On the way to the Iftar I parked up on the roof of the car park and took this shot of downtown Abu Dhabi some 15 km away.


Copyright © 2014 Martin McGougan. All rights reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.