The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

RAK and ruin

So another day of exploring - this time, up to the northern Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah (or RAK as it is affectionately known) to seek the abandoned fishing village of Jazirat Al Hamra. Not sure why everyone left in a hurry - maybe the fish left?

I had fun all the same, exploring the old houses and mosque. Until, that is, I managed to get my car stuck in the sand. A futile half hour of digging resulted in me losing 3kg in sweat and moving the vehicle exactly zero centimetres. And so, with the defeated trudge of a foolish tourist, I headed for the tiny shop in the middle of nowhere to ask for help. The shopkeeper walked me round to, what I thought was pone of the abandoned village houses. Turns out there were 4 or 5 guys living in there. One of them, the mild mannered Manjinder Singh, took me in his beaten up pick-up truck and we managed to free my car. I couldn't thank him enough for saving me - and he even refused initially to take any money for his efforts. I think he realised I wasn't going to leave until I had paid him for his hero-like service (he probably had visions of me staying in his abandoned fishing village abode with his 4 pals that night if he didn't accept it) so we parted as best of pals!



Copyright © 2014 Martin McGougan. All rights reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.