ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

The Show

I love the quaintness of the Rush Horticultural Show held annually when local farmers vie for top grower for potatoes, tomatoes, various other vegetables, flowers and of course lots of competitions for best breads, cakes, knitwear etc.

My friend Delia, in her eighty fourth year and still working on the family farm, won seven firsts for her tomatoes....no surprise there as she wins most years... I took home a full box of her export tomatoes which will be distributed and eaten before the weekend is over.

I used to enter the photography competition every year but two years ago decided to leave it to younger entrants who will gain more from winning the trophy.

These shows are very much a glimpse into rural life and I hope they continue for many years to come.....just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.