Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Stephanie and John's wedding

My cousin's daughter got married today, it was a really lovely service. Ed and I were invited to the evening ceremony but I took Orla to the actual wedding so that she could see the bride. She had loads of fun playing with my other cousin's 8 year old and was invited to come back for the evening party with us.

As it happened, Ed was feeling rotten, probably after his epic drive back from Bristol yesterday, so Orla and I went ourselves. She had loads of fun playing with Emily and Alessia and Sofia and their other cousins. And with my cousin's husband Rodney, who was great at keeping her entertained (stealing the "jewels" she was collecting from all the tables!). She danced with gay abandon, played hide n seek, ate cake, drank juice and generally had a ball.

I left a bit early to take her and Mum home. In the car we were talking about her favourite bit of the wedding. Right before she fell asleep she said "my favourite thing of all is being loved".

It really was a special day. The bride is my dad's older brother's grand-daughter and today was his anniversary. He would have been so proud of Steph. But to make it even more amazing her sister gave birth to a baby boy today as well, Bradley John, after his great-grandad. We were all a bit emotional.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.