Contagious

There's a saying that we should surround ourselves with people we love, people we enjoy being around. I got a message a couple of days ago from an estranged friend saying she would be in town for a few hours and would I come out for a drink. I swithered greatly; the last time I saw this person we fought, loudly, and the memory was still painful. I finally agreed because I realised that I was afraid to see her again, afraid of another fight breaking out, so I went in order to get over the fear.

I'm glad I did. There was no mention of the last time we saw each other (and no apology from her) and reminders of things I had forgotten - all sorts of things about her that I find draining. In the end it was anticlimactic - it was all a bit meh.

This is why you get a photo of my lovely neighbour P, sitting on the prom being lovely. We sat and had a fabulous conversation for about 20 minutes that was wide-ranging, honest and funny. I thoroughly enjoy his company and everyone I know who knows him agrees. He's interested in people, interested in life around him and bursting with creativity. He reminds me of another saying: Attitudes are contagious. Are yours worth catching?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.