Dutch tales

By ThisIsGerda

Partytime

Every year in July there is an event in Nijmegen, a four days marching event.  From Tuesday till Friday men will walk 50 km a day,  women will walk 40 km a day,  young and old will walk 30 km a day,  military will walk 40 km a day and carry 10 Kilo along with them.  This march started out as a military event as early as 1908. http://www.4daagse.nl/en

I joined in twice.  The first time I walked 30 km a day,  when 40 km was required for my medal,  so I got a diploma instead.  The second time I did the 40 km a day and got my treasured medal.  I walked through both heat and severe showers,  but had a great time.  

From Saturday beforehand till Friday every evening the entire city center changes to one great festivity area,  with music and bars everywhere.  The music is for free and on stages everywhere.  Yesterday my brothers and I had a great time wandering from stage to stage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.