Street Corner Society

By StCornerSociety

High pressure sales

Try and ignore him and the lure of the buffet.

Reminded of a recent visit to a car showroom, just out of curiosity with no real plans to buy (I have approx a year's saving to do before I can seriously think of replacing the fragile heap I currently drive. But it doesn't stop me window shopping). Before I knew it I was seated at the sales desk talking through a purchase of a car I didn't really want, which was almost £5, 000 above my budget. The salesman was so good I was actually seriously contemplating it. Until I eventually came to my senses. The manager got wind of my wavering, and that I was trying to politely extract myself by saying "I'd think about it", and he, another colleague and the original salesman joined forces and put considerable pressure on me to buy a car that day. It was extraordinary! I got back in my scrap of heap and drove away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.