Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Meadow Brown

We learned a few things after yesterday's trip to Bookham Common. The first thing, and what we didn't know yesterday, was that now, or at least the first 10 days of July, is the best time to see a Purple Emperor butterfly in the south of England and that Bookham is one of the best sites, being a small chunk of ancient woodland that once covered the whole of the south of England.

There are 1,500 species of beetle alone in this small wood and we didn't see one today, although we weren't looking for them. Instead we were scouring the tops of the biggest oak trees for any signs of a purple emperor on the wing. It was a dank start and paths that had been alight with butterflies yesterday were empty today. Then the sun came out and so did the butterflies. But not the one we were searching for.

Early July is the best time because that's when they are mating. By now that will already be over and the females will be laying their eggs. We need to find what is called the "master tree" where they hang out. There are at least two in the wood but I only knew the general area, not the specific trees. I thought I'd found one on the path but it turned out be a peacock.

Another thing we learned is that bramble flowers are an important source of nectar and most of them are berrying now as you can see here.

I thought the silver-washed fritillary I had today was slightly better than the one I blipped yesterday. I was trying today to get images with nice foliage too, so not just the butterfly.

We added to our own species list for the wood with a small skipper and a ringlet, so I think that's 11 different types we've seen there. But, sadly, not the elusive purple emperor (somebody did spot one in the canopy yesterday). We might have to wait another year. Drat!

For the blip it was a toss up between the gatekeeper and the meadow brown. The gatekeeper was sitting so pertly on its leaf but the meadow brown just edged it for me as it was such a perfect specimen. I could get in to this butterfly lark, not sure I'd ever get this good, though. I can feel a trip to the South Downs coming on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.