Violet

Still on the beetle theme, I thought I would blip this really stunning Violet Ground Beetle (Carabus violaceus) today.
I found it outside my daughter's back door on the paving the other night, and managed to catch it, and fridge it for a photo shoot.
Violet Ground Beetles are common in the UK and live in gardens and meadows chasing and catching smaller invertebrates. They are really useful to have in the garden, as they prey on many pest species such as slugs. As the name suggests these large 20 - 30mm beetles don't fly, but they make up for this by having long legs and can move very fast if they want to! (fortunately mine was cold, so he stayed still long enough to get a few shots). They hunt at night ( I found this one at night), and have fearsome mandibles which can give a painful nip, although this one was placid enough, even on my hand.
I think they are very interesting and such a lovely colour with the violet edges........Beetles are very fast becoming my favourite insects...sigh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.