Purse with jewels

This toad looks distinctly peeved at being disturbed on a hot day from under the black polythene that covers the wood chippings.
After a photo session I allowed it to crawl back into its shadowy lair, eyes glittering like a tiny radiance in a dark place.

Stop looking like a purse. How could a purse
Squeeze under the rickety door and sit,
Full of satisfaction in a man’s house?

You clamber towards me on your four corners –
Right hand, left foot, left hand, right foot.

I love you for being a toad,
For crawling like a Japanese wrestler,
And for not being frightened

I put you in my purse hand not shutting it,
And set you down outside directly under
Every star.

A jewel in your head? Toad,
You’ve put one in mine,
A tiny radiance in a dark place.


Norman MacCaig

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.