food parcel

Look what I found in the fridge!

Gooseberries with a tamarind and chilli dip. Unusual, but not for me. One of my ex's favourites. Our son must have visited her and brought back a food parcel.

Normally the dip would be used with green mango - not much eaten in this country apart from those with a connection to South or Southeast Asia.

When Mark was little and visiting his grandparents he'd join his cousins in climbing the tamarind tree in the field next door (while I fretted about snakes) and pick the brown tamarind pods. He loved the sticky syrup inside (much used in cooking in that part of the world).

Ironically, the only time (I know of) when he was in danger from a snake was playing football. He went to retrieve the ball from the next field and came face to face with a cobra.

One of his cousins pulled him out of the way, and saved him.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.