Les Arcs Day 7: Aguille Rouge

<backblip>

We tackled one of the longest pisted ski runs in the world today - the Aguille Rouge. The run is just over 7km long and has a 2000m vertical drop from the top of the Aguille Rouge peak (that lends its name to the run) down a series of black, red and then blue runs all the way down to Villaroger (and coffee and apple tarte).

The snow was great - if a little icy at the bottom. This is me on the chairlift on the way back up.

Then after meeting up again with Hound Dog and a gigantic Tartiflette lunch Hound Dog, Big Dog and I braved a monstrous off piste (<- I've marked the run on this - the little specks are other skiers) section down the flank of the Aguille Rouge - parallel to a black run.

I was so scared at the top - I know my technique is up to it but the feeling of exposure was off the chart for me. Very pleased to have made it without falling over though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.