send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

Whew! Just made it!

I didn't realise how late it was, and only managed to snap this a few minutes before midnight. I got really excited today, as I've been waiting for a set of macro extension tubes to show up and today was the day. Unfortunately, it's been overcast and drizzling since then, so I've not yet had the chance to go hunting in the garden for something fun. So I had to settle for something mundane like a laminated pair of dragonfly wings for the time being.
In a past life I taught environmental ed in the wilder side of New England, so now I've got all kinds of self-collected teaching aids. This one was to explain about how to identify dragonflies. The intricacies of the wing veination is often a good start when it comes to separating species. Another is to compare wedding tackle, but I'm not that voyeuristic...
Hopefully the weekend will bring sunlight and I can get really big shots of really small subjects.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.