KatPrice

By KatPrice

East End market trawling

Beautiful sunny day spent trawling Brick Lane and Old Spitalfields - one thing I cannot resist at markets is cake. Bakeries. Pastries. Patisseries. Breads. I just can't not. This stall - St Sugar of London - was actually my first stop, and some 50p honey madeleines satisfied my cake cravings. Later stopped off at the Flavourtown Bakery stall for a peanut butter cupcake, so spent most of the day on a massive sugar, honey and buttercream high.

I love the London markets; there are so many, all with completely different atmospheres and stalls. Brick Lane is much more of a bric-a-brac/ethnic foods market, lots of vintage clothes, foods from all over the world, especially Eastern cultures, furniture, and odds and ends. Old Spitalfields is a tad more upmarket, the market itself is bookended by boutiques and designers, and has a slightly more organised feel to it, so it depends which style of markets you prefer (Or, if you're like me, and you love both).

Came away with plenty of birthday gifts for the next two months but with far less money...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.