J & J's Dad

By chollins

Old Calton Graveyard, Edinburgh

Anytime i go into Edinburgh with my camera, i'm always drawn to the old graveyards and their macabre headstones. I lose myself for hours wandering around reading the inscriptions and imagining the lives of the people below me.
I've photographed this particular one many times and i love the old carvings on it and that it has been here in this spot for over 350 years.
The inscription reads:-
Captain John Gray
ordered this stone to be erected
to the memory of his parents ELISABETH WILKINS
who died Feb 3rd 1747 aged ? and THOMAS GRAY Wright in the Pleasants
who died May 3rd 1732 aged ?
whose bodies lie here interred
also MICHAEL SWAN
who died in 1746 aged 6months and
JOHN SWAN
who died in 1746 aged 9 years
both sons to James Swan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.