Life Photographically.

By SaraJean

Hurricane Arthur

Almost a week ago today (July 15th, backdated) the power in my apartment came back one.
We lost power around 9:00 am Saturday July 5th, when Hurricane Arthur unexpectedly ran straight into Fredericton.

Naturally I decided to venture out into the storm before breakfast. I got a zip-lock bag for my camera and headed to the streets. This is my favorite shot from the afternoon. I love the distortion from the rain, and water on my lens, its authentic to what I had seen out there. More photos are posted on my blog, for those who'd like to see more.

I've tried my best to document the days after the storm, it was such a surreal experience, defiantly one for the memory books.

Day 1: over 60, 000 people in Fredericton lost power.
over 2, 000 trees in the city limits fell.
Day 2: Over 200 power crews from NB, Quebec and Maine work to restore power to residences across NB with 80 crews working in Fredericton.
Day 3: 2 hours is an average time to sit in a line to get gas.
Ice is nowhere to be found.
Day 4: I cooked a turkey on the BBQ.
Currently estimated to hove power back my 12:00 am on Friday July. 11th
City clean up is well under way. Most downed trees have been cut and removed from the roads and power line.
Over 34, 000 people are still without power.
Day 5: Our power was restored at around 11:00 am.

Day 7: 16, 000 people still without power.

Day 10: 794 people still without power, expected to have it back by midnight tonight.
1110 people in NB still without power.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.