The first rays

This blip is me being lazy. But though the shot isn't good perhaps, it does capture the first orange rays of the sun that enter the apartment. There is a long beam that illuminates everything on its way, reflecting off shiny surfaces to give the space a warm glow. It lasts for a very short time.

Eventually I have broken away from the inertia and cycled to office. After a bit of criticism from friends about why I don't do it living hardly 5 km away. I find it hard taking direct orders about the way I should do things, but I love criticism of this kind. Criticism or punishment deviod of contempt is a blessing.

Here are a few extracts from what I have been reading lately, apart from a detective novel:

"A problem is something which I meet, which I find complete before me, and which I can therefore lay siege to and reduce. But a mystery is something in which I am myself involved, and it can therefore only be thought of as a sphere where the distinction between what is in me and what is before me loses its meaning and initial validity. A genuine problem is subject to an appropriate technique by the exercise of which it is defined: whereas a mystery, by definition, transcends every conceivable technique."

~Gabriel Marcel

"...when a man is capable of being in uncertainties, mysteries, doubts, without any irritable reaching after fact and reason."

~Keats on 'negative capability'

"('Meditative thinking' is) not a 'floating' thinking which 'loses touch'. It requires work, and may even demand more effort and practice than calculative thinking. As Heidegger states, in meditative thinking we ?dwell on what lies close?upon what concerns us, each one of us, here and now..."

"The woodworker learns to be sensitive to the particularities of each piece of wood, and to allow what is best in it to guide his or her skill. Part of thinking, then, is being open, or opening, to the potential of the particular. The traveler is one who sets out on a never-ending journey. This is not a negative image but a positive one, for the purpose of traveling is never to arrive but always to be on the way. Part of the definition of thinking, then, is always being open or opening to the next step. With reference to obedience, a woodworker is one who is obedient to the wood while the traveler is one who is obedient to the nature and direction of the path. Questioning arises from a waiting upon that is sensitive to the particular."

~Robert Glass

""Where is God gone?" he called out. "I mean to tell you! We have killed him, you and I! We are all his murderers! But how have we done it? How were we able to drink up the sea? Who gave us the sponge to wipe away the whole horizon? What did we do when we loosened this earth from its sun? Whither does it now move? Whither do we move? Away from all suns? Do we not dash on unceasingly? Backwards, sideways, forwards, in all directions? Is there still an above and below? Do we not stray, as through infinite nothingness? Does not empty space breathe upon us?"

~Nietzsche


And finally:

"I cannot experience myself as a scientific problem."

~Jung

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.