bucks life

By bucksmiss

The Whirlwind and the power cut

So, as you can see, kind of, this is Lottie and her favourite soft toy 'Monkey'. Monkey is being 'killed' well, de-stuffed, most efficiently. Look at all those flying tufts!! This happens on a regular basis I'm told.

Lottie has been running round the garden this evening like a mad thing as she keeps hearing dogs but can't see them beyond the high walls. She also ate a fallen plum which was quite comical. I'm not sure her tummy's going to like that. I tried one too and they're just ripening. Yum. The problem is I currently have a local flock of fledgling starlings who are raiding the tree so I'm not sure how many will be left for me for jam... The tomatoes are also ripening. I had one and they're pretty good.

And we have no electricity. When I got home nothing worked. I've called Western Power and they say it's been off since 5pm and it's something to do with a fallen line and a dodgy box. 260 houses are out. They're hoping to have it back on, via a generator at least, by 9.30pm. Meanwhile, it's amazing how much we rely on the electricity supply and take it for granted. There's no oven, no tv, no ironing (shame), no freezer (eek), no hot water heater (pooh) and no washing machine. Of course, there's no light or wifi either. Thank goodness for a battery powered radio, my tablet and 3G!

Work was fine, if a bit stressy in the lead up to my break. However, it's mainly under control I think, so I just need to get my head down for the next two days and we're all set. The head shrink was fine. Mainly positive stuff again. I then popped into the sports shop for some leggings and some cheap neoprene swimming shoes for the river and sea.

I spoke to S about arrangements for Friday. We're travelling down separately and I ought to be there first but we'll see. I'm really looking forward to a week on the beach and cliffs.

The others are out tonight for a curry so I'm here in the dark and quiet with Lottie, chilling....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.