surely you can see

By petergarver

Laura's brother Scott was in town this weekend, and as is my usual practice, I got a few snapshots of them. This was by far my favorite.

I spent a few minutes afterward thinking about how I approach the classic family snapshot, and how I do it differently than people who don't consciously try to take good pictures. Obviously there's the light, framing, etc, but I think most people who are making an effort will end up choosing a different moment as well.

This picture seems real to me, like something that would and did happen. I think that the memory is worth more than a memory of "what we looked like when we pretended to smile".

The thought is elementary, sure, and certainly would go without saying to someone with more experience. But hey, you've got to realize everything once.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.