Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Everything is OK

The meeting I attended this afternoon finished a bit early, so I popped down to the coffee shop on the piazza outside Broadcasting House for a latte, and sat outside for 15 minutes to drink it.

No sooner had I taken the first sip than a loud voice rang out of nowhere warning everybody on the piazza that we were being monitored on cctv and that anyone caught on video would have to pay a fee of £10. Everyone looked around, bemused. Then I noticed a man with a megaphone standing at the steel bollards by the entrance asking why, if the BBC could charge a licence fee to watch its live transmissions, should he not charge a fee of £10 for his own live "broadcasts". It soon became apparent that he was either a nutter or a comedian. Having now found out that he is self-styled "social experimentalist" and street performer/satirist Danny Shine, I'm still not too sure which it is...

I have to say, he did make us laugh a bit during his 5-minute megaphone broadcast. Here's one of the many videos of him in action, posted on YouTube under the series title "Everything is OK".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.