Erinn Letts Photos

By ErinnL

Loons

I love loons. I love listening to their sorrowful calls through the open window as I drift off to sleep after a long day at the lake. I love to watch them swim and dive with their young on their backs. I sometimes even yell at boaters if they are closer than 200 feet from loons.

My dad said there were at least two nesting pair on their lake this year. Mia and I went with him to check it out. We saw three adult loons fishing in the middle of the lake. They let us get really close which led us to assume there was a big school of fish below them. I'm not sure why the three of them were sticking together, but I would to know more about them. Was the larger one a male trying to entice a mate? Was it the mother of the two smaller ones? Were they banding together in protection against the eagle that nests on the point? I can't tell the specifics of their story, but I can share their beauty through this image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.