Visiting the World

By HannahRoseB

Pancake Rocks

I slept fairly well, though could have done with longer. The rain is still coming down with a vengeance.

We piled back onto the bus and headed south/west to the coastal road. A bit unfortunate though, I remember how beautiful this drive was last time but we couldn't see anything through fogged windows now.
After a few stops in tiny towns and at view points we got to Punakaiki. Before heading to the accommodation we went to see Pancake Rocks and the Blowholes. This is one of my favourite places in NZ- the power of the water and the amazing shapes of the rocks. There was even a little break in the cloud out to sea.

Once we made it to the accommodation (coincidentally I was staying in the same house as last time i.e the worst one) we rushed down to the beach to catch the sunset. It was beautiful in a stormy kind of way.

I then had warming beans on toast for dinner, got to know the 4 Irish and 3 Germans I was sharing the house with.. Then went to one of the other houses to actually sit comfortably and warmly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.