Pixelfoto's Journal

By Pixelfoto

Tyne Bridges

I spent the day on the quaysides of Newcastle and Gateshead on a workshop using Olympus cameras. I had booked on this because I need to change to lighter equipment. My normal kit of a Nikon D300 is proving to be too heavy and if I know I am going to be walking a lot then I don't want to take the camera with me. I had seen the initial reviews of the Olympus OMD EM10 and thought this might be suitable. However, with other mirror-less cameras I had tried I didn't get on with the electronic viewfinders. The workshop was disappointing as there was no EM10 to try, only EM5's! But I did get on OK with the electronic viewfinder. Another workshop participant had an EM10 so I looked through that viewfinder and thought it was better than the EM5.

The other option I am considering is the Nikon D7100 as I am concerned about the quality of the 4/3 system as apposed to a DSLR. I do need to produce the best quality prints and don't want to compromise on that. However the D7100 won't be nearly so light to carry around.

So far I haven't looked closely at the files but just processed this one quickly to blip. I like the way it shows the Millennium Bridge and the older Tyne bridges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.