Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Who Pays The Ferryman?

Unusually, we picked up my sons two dogs for a second day running. His girlfriend was going to be late home, and my wife couldn't bear to think of them stuck indoors longer than normal, on a boiling hot day. I, being a bloke, had no such qualms.

We headed to Symond's Yat Forestry car park to do a six mile walk to Mailscot Wood and back along the Wye. It was a walk we hadn't done for a couple of years. The dogs thoroughly enjoyed themselves, in brooks and then swimming in the Wye. We even bumped into other dog walkers who pointed us to The Forest of Dean Lodge park where they had a dog friendly cafe, convienently at the half way stage.

I took loads of photographs and my favourite is the first I took of some yellow flowers against the light blue sky, in a forestry clearing. I try and avoid flowers and bird photo blips unless I think they're stunning. That's too easy.

The blip photo is of the ferry man that will take you between Symond's Yat East and the opposite side, on payment of a small fee. Nobody seems to want to pay his fare.

On the way around, I told the wife we'd be using up the rest of the runner beans and what did she want with hers? We're booking into a hotel tomorrow afternoon as we are at a friends retirement party in the night. We need to use up odds and ends. Goodness, knows what I'll be like when I'm really old.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.