Wearing Silly Hats

It's been a very full on day. An early cycle in and a late cycle back, punctuated by a trip into Leeds and on to Horsforth in the middle of the day to attend Forrest's graduation ceremony. I was under strict orders to turn up suitably dressed for what was a very formal occasion - but, on a swelteringly hot day, it would have been purgatory to have walked up the hill to the campus in full body cover so I arrived in shorts and T-shirt (to a look of resigned dismay from first born) and transformed myself in the bushes just inside the entrance. It's never too late too embarrass one's children!

Here is Forrest with his best mate Alex wearing their silly hats. I think it's fair to say that they've been very good for each other this last three years of study for their Sports Journalism degree, keeping one another honest to the task - in between all the cricket and the drinking! They've both done very well despite a work ethic which (they'd probably admit themselves) wasn't as strong as it could have been. Most importantly, though, they have a talent for writing and a passion for sport which I'm sure will serve them well going into the future. With a little focus I think they are capable of great things. I have great respect for the both of you. To borrow the words of Alex's mum tonight, they are top lads. They truly are. Congratulations guys.

It's a measure of my pride that I'm posting a shot of these two tonight over some lovely young women I photographed in Leeds today (one of them here). I just had a few minutes to kill between trains and in that time I came across so many beautifully turned out and elegant people. Shipley feels like a whole world away when I visit Leeds!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.