Keith B

By keibr

Sailing

The first day out on the water!
I sailed out of Mjällomhamn in very quiet and varying winds. I was tempted to use the motor but I wasn't going anywhere special so I decided to see it as a technical exercise.
Once out past the islands the wind increased and steadied from the south so I sailed briskly out to the the two small skerries at the western end of Mjällomfjärden (Mjällom fjord) which mark the start of the open sea. I could see Southern Ulvön clearly to the northeast and to the south I could see Högbonden lighthouse. Both these are goals for a day's sailing but since I set out today at about 15:30 the two skerries were my farthest point out today. Lotta zipped along on the way out at a max speed of 12 kmh.
Turning back I sailed down the sun's reflection heading directly west and that's when this photo was taken. I'm slightly ashamed that the sail wasn't set correctly and needed to be raised a little more but sailing alone in a good breeze I couldn't readjust it safely. And it was the first day out!
Back in around the islands the wind reverted to previous form and at times dropped altogether, as often happens in the evening. While waiting for the next puff of wind I sawed and fitted the missing piece of floor. Finally I put the motor in the water and motored in the last 2 km.
Got home around 22:30 to find Jan had cut about half the grass during the day, as well as all the other gardening stuff - what a champion!
An excellent day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.