CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Ooops for the second time.

This is the pretty little village of Brockweir, with the River Wye in the foreground. I'm standing in Wales to take the photo, and Brockweir is in England.

Whilst we were wandering around the village, something happened which reminded me of a holiday we had years ago, sailing on a yacht around some of the Greek islands. One evening we moored up in a little harbour. It was my job to go and fetch the provisions while Nikonabike and our son made the boat secure. I clambered up some steps and onto the narrow road running around the harbour, then crossed over and up a few steps to the tiny village shop. There was a door on the left and one on the right. I could see people in the room on my left so in I went. I said "hello" in my awful Greek and had a look round. Hardly anything on display but in that heat most items were kept refrigerated. I opened one cupboard after another, but not much there at all. Eventually I picked up the only remaining loaf and asked how much. No-one understood me. The old lady dressed in the obligatory black dress and shawl and sitting in the corner was eyeing me intently. The others in the shop were all staring too. I needed to get back so I gave the man standing near to the cabinet where I'd found the bread, the same amount of money that we had paid in other places.
As I left the shop I was surprised to see our son coming out of the door opposite. I asked him what he had been doing in there. He said "I was in the shop looking for you. Why were you in that house?" We went back down the steps and onto the street and both turned to look at the doorway. The shop sign was over the right hand side of the building. I'd wandered into someone's house, opened all their cupboards and fridge, then taken their bread. At least I'd paid for it.

Today in Brockweir we saw a sign saying that visitors are welcome in the Moravian Church. We had read a little about the church so I decided to go in; Nikonabike would wait on the nearby footpath with the dogs. Try as I might I couldn't open the door.
I gave up and we walked on down the path and came to - the church!
When we walked back I could see from a different angle, what I had previously thought was the church, and round the side was a man sitting on a bench. We then watched as he got up and walked round to his front door (the door I'd been trying to open) and unlocked it and went it.

Lucky for me he had been sitting in his garden earlier and wasn't indoors!

By the way, I'm not that doolally that I can't recognise a church, but the guidebook described it as being "simple". In the early 19th century Brockweir was a centre for riverside commerce, being the highest point on the Wye for deep water vessels, and at one time had 16 inns and no church, which is why this one was built. The correct church is the white building on the right of this picture.

Sorry for no comments but I can only just get enough signal to upload this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.