Shocked

Yesterday we heard about the tragic news of the airplane crashing in Ukraine. Today, the news got more personal for me. As names started to get known, it came to my knowledge that Willem Witteveen together with his wife and daughter was in this plane.

Willem Witteveen was the former dean and lecturer of my bachelor program (Liberal Arts and Sciences). I was in the first cohort of this program and as it is a relatively small program everyone knows each other and is very involed with each other. Witteveen was not just there in the lectures, but also outside of them, trying to make our education better.

As the dean he has undoubtedly meant a lot for the program, the students, and where I stand today.


I'm sorry for everyone who is left behind. Witteveen's family and friends, but also all other families and friends around the world who have lost their loved ones.


Shot this photo earlier this day before finding out and still working on my balcony in the shade; it does not represent my text well maybe, but sigh. I don't know, I felt like still putting it there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.