WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Plan B

Inspired by Travellersjoy, I folded the map for an area I haven't visited for quite some time, packed my rucksack, sorted water for the dog and dug out my walking pole to fend of any frisky cows. I was planning one of my early starts so I could walk and get back for tutoring so we turned out the light quite early.

Could I sleep?

Various thoughts dashed through my mind one after the other and as I nearly dozed something else would come up. I even realised I'd made a spelling error in an email I'd sent that morning. Eventually, after midnight, I suddenly remembered a man was coming to fix our garage door - early was the time they specified. Plan A erased.

At 2pm they turned up so I could have gone out but never mind, it is now fixed.

Plan B was hatched to continue our Three Peaks Series. So, tonight with Rich & CJ: Series 2 Sunset: Episode 2 of 3 - Whernside.

I looked back on the way up and noticed the light streaming through the viaduct. We were on top as the sun began changing the colour of the sky and enjoyed a long sunset descent with candyfloss light. It was quite ethereal with hundreds and hundreds of moths waking up to the dimming light of the setting sun.

Peppermint tea and Pringles in bed just before midnight finished off the evening nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.