Gold Top!

Sorry folks but today's blip should have been of Tony and I summiting the Matterhorn. Sadly as we were busy raising the Yorkshire flag, a marmot photo bombed the blip!

Today we walked up through forest and across mountain top to Riffelalp, Riffelberg, Rotenboden (has to be pronounced with a Geordie accent!) eventually arriving for Apfel Strudel and tea at Gornergrat, the final stop on the cog railway. We had another 'lost in translation' moment in the cafe when we filled our cups with tea from an urn and went looking for milk to add to it. I commented that it looked very stewed, then I spotted some tea bags and hot water?? Tony tasted the tea in the cups and it was seriously alcoholic. A passing waiter pointed out it was in fact Jäger Tee (I've just googled it and it is over proof rum mixed with strong black tea!). I thought it was expensive stuff! Thankfully the waiter took away our mugs with something of a sigh so we didn't have to pay for it. Tony thinks he probably drank it.

Back to today's walk. It took us four hours to reach Gornergrat at 3090 metres and well worth it for the magnificent mountain/glacier views which I have seriously blipped! We decided to return to the valley via the cog railway and chatted to two seasoned orienteers, one German, one Swiss on the way down. They had just been training on the mountainside. Tony and I are seriously laid back about the orienteering aspect of this holiday, we're having too much fun walking in the mountains!

So to today's blip! It could have been any one of high snow capped mountains set against blue sky but I was awaken by the early morning skiers (5.30am) going past to the gondola and spotted the sun rising on 'the horn that matters' (thank you Elvira!). It looked like the summit was on fire and I took a series of blips as the sun worked its way down the face of the mountain until suddenly it was no longer golden but just daylight! I even woke Tony up it was so amazing. What's more I haven't tinkered with the blip at all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.