Reflecting on Auckland

I managed to squeeze myself a short window of time today (lunch time) to head out of the hotel and into auckland life beyond conferences.

I had a choice - make a beeline for the waterfront or head off to find the last Borders bookshop in New Zealand, which all the literature (online and in pamphlets) told me still existed. I opted for Borders - books being my downfall.

Sadly, all the literature lied so not only did I not get to the waterfront, I didn't get a Borders fix either. I did have a woodle through Whitcoulls, but when you're hopes are up for Borders, Whitcoulls just doesn't cut it. Sob sob.

And yeah, I knew really that the whole chain was now gone (in NZ anyway) but the dream just wouldn't die. I guess it's dead now!

Anyway, a photo of reflections on the side of a glass skyscraper. I'm not used to seeing them - all the ones in Christchurch having been demolished.

I'm off back to conference now for more workshops, then the formal dinner tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.