Craft & Life

By Aluap

Updated jet Necklace

Last year i attended a workshop where Tyvek envelopes were used for making paper beads. The central bead is made from Tyvek, covered in enamelling powder & then has a lightweight guage wire wrapped around to complete the design.

My friend J gave me some antique & rare jet beads. At the time i didn't know how rare they were but a friend explained that jet is no longer being mined.

I had asked a few of my friends for donations of broken or unwanted jewellery so i could continue with the jewellery making. The real reason i wanted them was to restring or redesign their jewellery & then give it back to them as xmas presents. Thought recycling their own beads was a great idea. My friends were quite pleased when they got their beads back.

I felt guilty that J hadn't got more of her beads back so made her 4 pairs of earings & this necklace, there are 10 jet beads left now. She wants me to keep them so am going to make a necklace for me sometime soon. Put a metallic clasp on as lobster claw fasteners are too fussy, now if anyone pulls them off she will not get injured & will be able to pop it on in no time.

G delivered them last evening, J's really happy with everything, thank goodness. Hope you like.....feel free to make suggestion or changes you think might improve my beading as it's always good to get feedback :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.