Mixed feelings

It's soup-of-the-week time tomorrow. That's when I slave over the hot stove for hours to conjure up a cauldron of culinary c...c....dang, I can't come up with a good c-word for delicious soup.

This week: wild rice/mushroom, vegetarian style. The rice is the amazing stuff they harvest up north by canoeing through the flooded fields, tapping the seedheads and collecting the rice in the bottom of the canoe. Some day I want to see that.

This micro-close-up (lenses taped together) of the gills on a button mushroom surprises me. I am awed by the deep folds and sensous curves but at the same time I'm a little squeamish at the thought of what might not get washed out of those. Whatever it is, I'm fairly certain it'll be dead by the time I eat it as these get sliced thin and sauteed in butter till golden brown before becoming part of the soup.

Unrelated...anyone with an iPhone, if you're not sick of the snow yet you can always get this or even something mesmerizing, like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.