Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

Great torn up and grey tree roots at the dump contrasted with a perimeter of red and green lush grass and a muddy drive-through. J., the landie and I had deposited off J's trailer the cuttings from the pomegranate tree that J and his wife, D. were part demolishing by pruning while I, oblivious to their activity in the yard (we have an understanding) slept through most of it.

Later, I received an esoteric mobile phone message from friend, C, that said 'OK' and I guessed it was mistakenly sent to me so responded with ... 'Babe, is it me yr lookin' ferr?' :)

By coincidence entirely I was then walking past the venue I had been invited to for afternoon tea by C by a mobile message (but hadn't received that message) when C. turned up ...C assumed I was there in response to her invitation.

I tried to explain. I had received a message that said 'OK'. I had not got an invitation from her. I was only walking past doing errands.

'No,' C said absentmindedly, for whom that did not sink in so sure was she I was meeting her. She explained her version. She messaged her friend, H, 'OK' (about something) and had invited me to afternoon tea.

Eh? Invitation?

Yes, C said.

By sending me a message that says 'OK'?

'OK'? Did I send you a message that says 'OK'?

You did. Well I hope whoever you sent my invitation to doesn't turn up, I said. I'm in. I can finish what I was doing later.

Ten minutes later, my mobile went dingle. The invitation.

Great, I vocalised, We know no-one else is mistakenly coming for afternoon tea. It's all mine.

It was delicious.

C said, meanwhile inspecting her mobile, I see I did send you 'OK' by mistake.

Seems C. sent the invitation to me simultaneous as I was addressing the message she sent not intended for me. All's well that ended well.

C clearly thought my answer, she thought to her invitation ... in fact response only to 'OK' ... was like quicksilver it seemed to arrive faster than she sent the invitation. Reckon it did:)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.