Deutsch-Deutsche Grenze

Another adventure for me (Annie) today. I set off from the Netherlands after a leisurely breakfast and headed into Germany. With the temperatures hitting the 30s even before noon, I was glad of a cool car. I had a long trip ahead of me, but with the unrestricted German Autobahns meaning I could set the cruise control to 100mph, the journey went faster. Faster still, had I concentrated more on the SatNav and less on singing loudly along with the music.

Just one stop today - at the Grenzmuseum Schifflersgrund at the Inner German Border (the Grenze). I must have not registered this part of history properly as a youth, because it was only when I last visited Berlin that I discovered the Iron Curtain was physically real, running down through the whole of Germany and beyond. I knew about the Berlin Wall itself, but not this other one.

It was fascinating to walk this bit of history - one of the few bits of wall remaining. There would have been a fence at each side (you can see one), with observation points, trip wires and dogs patrolling this strip in between. It's more green and tranquil now, but still enough to make you stop and think.

One really good thing to come from it is that the length of the former wall has been designated a green belt, so it's a natural haven for wildlife now.

A final drive to my rest stop for the night - a wonderful little hotel in the then DDR, and now a fully reunified Germany.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.