Rehab

I got a phone call on Friday telling me I'd got a place with a group to do cardiac rehab, beginning with a stress test on Tuesday next week. This confirmation arrived today.

This is a follow-on from the post-op assessment I had with the surgeon's team back in August. I'd been warned at the time that it could be a while before I'd secure place, since places for each course are limited, but even allowing for this I must admit to wondering recently if I'd even been put on the waiting list. Friday's phone call makes me glad that I didn't jump the gun and contact them about it.

The person I spoke to was very informative. The stress test is at 8.30 on 2nd February ("I presume that's a.m. and not p.m.", I rather facetiously enquired. It is, of course, so an early start awaits me that morning. I'd already heard while in hospital that this rehab course is an intensive one, but still I was surprised to learn just what's involved: an hour a day three days a week (Monday, Wednesday, Friday) for ten weeks -- now that's certainly intense!

I also have an appointment coming up with the cardiac dietician, and I'm to get a blood test done before going to see her. It'll be interesting to find out how my cholesterol levels are coming along after all these months of my changed diet (the most significant part of which has been the switch away from dairy products). Interesting times ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.