Lapiaz

By Sn2

Futures

After the rain had cleared, I got out of the apartment and headed to Kitsilano and the Arc'teryx brand store. I've got an evening training session there on Tuesday. Best find it in a relaxed fashion, rather than running all over the show in Tuesday rush hour.

That strategy was just as well because I over-shot my bus ride by ten blocks. But it did give me a nice stroll down through Kits with it's organic coffee shops and coloured bead emporiums. I think I was the only non-hipster in sight.

So I had a good look through the Arc'teryx store and decided exactly which Gore-tex jacket I was going to need.

Need. This is Vancouver.

While in the changing room, my nose, which is in the habit of leaking blood on occasion, decided to commence leaking at that very moment. Awesome.

Once the red tide had been stemmed (without a tissue - I'm getting good at this) I left and got back on the right bus for once, heading home. The route took me down Burrard Street, which was a-throng with cool, rich-looking attractive young professionals, who have the manouver of stepping around pavement-sleeping homeless people without apparently seeing them, down to a subtle art.

Overall, however, a good day. I should have been able to enjoy the new city, with its warm weather and comfortable lifestyle I seem to have found, but I can't. My job is great, and just what need. Compared to those unseen homeless folk, I've got nothing to complain about.
Last week was the first time I stepped up and presented my ideas on what I believe should be done to the area I manage. Up until now I've been doing the easy stuff. So simple to look from a safe distance and say what we shouldn't have done. Not very easy at all, to step up and say what we have to do next. Put my nuts on the block. Or at least one of them. It's like looking down a dark tunnel and hope there are no trains a-coming or big hammers just around the corner. Follow me, team. You can trust me, I know what I'm doing.

Ambivalence not helped by the bald fact that despite the new faces, new challenges and amazing city I now live in, I miss my old home. I miss my girl, The Lovely Ange. I miss my friends, I miss my family and I especially miss my Mum. This is the first time I've had time to feel homesick and I don't much like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.