TinyR

By TinyR

Barrowlands Park

On Saturday, the Barrowlands Park opened in Glasgow's east end. Running through the park is a pathway of gigs, created by artist Jill Lambie and intended to resemble a record collection, that features all the bands to have played at the nearby Barrowlands from 1983 to 2013. 2000 different acts are present and it was fun walking along the pathway looking for gigs that I had been to over the years. Sadly, I lost a number of tickets years back, so I wasn't able to remember all of nights I spent there especially those I went to as a teenager.

One of the fist gigs that I spotted was God Speed You! Black Emperor on December 8th 2008. I went to the gig with my good friend Russell and despite nursing a cracked rib, the temperature outside being below zero and the pavements leading up to the venue being impacted with thick black ice we had a great night. One of the things I remember most about the gig was the abundance of wellies, a wise footwear choice given the conditions outside however combined with the darkness of the venue and the sludgy mess on the floor it made me feel a little like we were partying in an abattoir - an odd feeling for a vegetarian like me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.