Lightning Bolt!!

Backblipping - today is Sunday, this photo was taken yesterday, Saturday (on my rubbish phone camera). And it was taken about half an hour after a lightning bolt hit the house opposite us, causing the most enormous explosive noise and flash I have ever witnessed, and that had everyone running out into the street.

Once we knew all was well and that the neighbour's house hadn't blown up, I then discovered that the power surge created by the lightening bolt had in fact blown up my broadband modem!! I phoned my internet provider who told me that they had had a lot of calls from customers who've had the same problem caused by lightning and a new modem has been ordered. This won't be delivered for 3-5 days, when I'm away. So I am now without internet, 3 days before I go away, with flight tickets to print, holiday transport and sightseeing research to be done, and a zillion other jobs that can only be done on the internet!!!!!

Thankfully a friend has taken pity on me and allowed me to hog her internet this afternoon, so I am hastily posting this to explain my absence and to apologise for my lack of comments. Normal service will be resumed once I return from Italy and have had the time to set up the new modem!

All this has left me thinking….. How did we manage before we had the Internet????

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.