Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Wonderful Welsh Wedding

Today has been a gorgeous day, very sunny and hot: As I type this about 4.30pm, I've just had to dash outside to get the washing in off the rotary as it's started raining. I've been trained for these womanly duties, but I'm only telling you fellow blippers - don't pass it on to anyone who knows me.

The wife was duly packaged off to work for the first of her two afternoon shifts with a sandwich pack (tuna) and salad box. The rest of the nag free day is mine.

I fancied another walk around Caerphilly Castle (the second largest in the UK after Windsor) which is 10 minutes away. I parked my Smart in a side street opposite the castle (to avoid paying in the council car park) and as I approached the castle a large coach was off-loading what looked like elderly american tourists; Oh no!

As I flashed my Cadw Card (free entry) I was informed the Medieval Hall was out as there was a private function on. With that and the sheer volume of tourists, I wondered why I'd chosen today. I walked around the castle which was joyous in the sun, and caught many different nationalities.

The private function was a wedding, and I actually got some very nice images of the medieval hall (I sneaked in) and the VW camper and guests all suited and booted when they probably felt like wearing shorts and a t-shirt.

On the way out, I managed to get one of the happy couple walking over the inner drawbridge, with a colourful flower planter, lovely sky, and that famous Caerphilly leaning tower (leans at a greater angle than that of Pisa!). Luckily I kept most of the onlookers out and removed one family that was behind them. I hope you like it!

The rain has now stopped - that was a waste of time dashing out earlier.

#One last thing, it's worth joining Cadw or English Heritage as they've an offer on at the moment and it'll give you loads of blip opportunities at hundreds of different sites. Cadw is £30 (full annual adult) and on renewal it's free access to English Heritage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.